Hi, I’m Doug Delaney

…and this is the part where I’m supposed to tell you about me.

I am loathe to do that because I’ve always been opposed to shameless self-promotion.

However, I’m not above letting someone else shamelessly promote me…

Thus, the below “About” was written by one of my agents. It’s mostly true and I don’t think it sucks at all. But if were up to me, I’d rather you read my work than a summary of it or my bio.

Where can you find my work? Well, my books, Tower Dog: Life Inside the Deadliest Job in America and Stranded are available wherever books and e-books are sold and my play The Last Ten Miles of Avery J. Coping is available from Concord Theatricals (formerly Samuel French.) And my column Delaney At Large runs twice a month in The Nassau Observer.

But with Substack, you don’t have to look for my work—it comes right to your inbox.

All subscribers receive a weekly public post (Substack calls ‘em “newsletters} featuring non-fiction, fiction, poetry, photos, opinions, humor, reviews, music & other audio and random observations. There will be bonus newsletters as well.

And paid subscribers receive additional weekly posts—right now, for example, Coyote Web Synergy and I are releasing the exclusive serial edition (text and audio versions) of my Western, The Bull, The Boy, and The Buffalo Robe.

Other Works In Progress Include:

  • Two Novels: Waterloo Boy and A Study in Glass

  • It’s A Levittown Thing and In Andrea’s Kitchen, both memoirs of New York and Kansas. 

  • A revival of my original musical, Lafitte, The Pyrate!, winner of New York City’s Broadway Tomorrow Award, is scheduled for the Spring of 2023. 

  • The Levittown Red Devils Documentary Project, The Devils You Knew.

  • My nonfiction series desparately in need of a title less lame (and only available here on Substack): War on Hypocrisy

Doug Delaney


About Douglas Scott Delaney

Doug Delaney is an award-winning writer of non-fiction, fiction, film and drama as well as a columnist for The Nassau Observer.

BUY TOWER DOG

Here’s what the critic's had to say about TOWER DOG: LIFE INSIDE THE DEADLIEST JOB IN AMERICA (available as an e-book and in print wherever books are sold.)

"I was totally compelled by this . . . the writing is strong; in the tradition of Junger, Langwiesche, Krakauer . . . with a dash of Hunter S. Thompson.” —Jon Winokur, author of bestselling memoirs The Garner Files and But Enough About Me

“A vivid book guaranteed to make readers more aware of what it takes to get that cellphone signal into his or her hand, for better or worse." —Kirkus Reviews

"Delaney’s descriptions of working on broadcast towers document fatigue (90-hour weeks) and fear (of gravity’s heartlessness) and reverberate with bravado . . . Delaney’s book promotes appreciation for those who risk their lives so we can get a cell-phone signal, and it just might provoke some acrophobia, too." —Booklist

BUY TOWER DOG



BUY STRANDED


Having been published and produced for over 40 years, Doug has also done development work for Fox Searchlight, Columbia Pictures, Universal Pictures, NBC Peacock, Barnstorm Films and Sony Pictures, to name a few. His film, All Roads Lead Home, won Best Picture at the Los Angeles International Film Festival in 2007. His short fiction has been published in Kansas QuarterlyPrism International and Western Humanities Review and many other literary magazines.  His drama has been performed to rave reviews in theaters all over the United States, with My Last Confession winning the prestigious Los Angeles DramaLogue Award for best play.

Delaney’s latest two-act play, Where’s Bucky? had its World Premiere with a three week run in Smithville, Texas courtesy of Coyote Web Synergy, Playhouse Smithville, and the Smithville Cultural District ) and was directed by Playhouse Smithville’s Sam Blasco, teaming these two theatre veterans together again for the first time since the 1980s.

Delaney was born in Brooklyn, New York, and raised in Levittown, Long Island. He attended Southwestern College in Winfield, KS, and graduate school in Louisiana. He now lives in the country “miles from nowhere” in the rural Kansas flint hills,  where he continues to work on new projects and will admit he “probably fishes way too much.”


What All Subscribers Will Receive

A weekly public post (Substack calls ‘em newsletters) featuring non-fiction, fiction, poetry, photos, opinions, humor, reviews, music & other audio and random observations. There will be bonus newsletters as well.

What Paying Subscribers Will Receive

You’ll receive additional weekly posts with content exclusively available only to paying subscribers—right now, for example, Coyote Web Synergy and I are releasing the exclusive serial edition (text and audio versions) of my Western, The Bull, The Boy, and The Buffalo Robe. Other exclusives include video readings of my work, brand new nonfiction essays: War On Hypocrisy (A collection of my unvarnished observations regarding the current State of Division.) Plus I’ll be sharing sneak-previews of soon to be released work and stories as well as behind the scenes peaks (with links) at previously published works.

To find out more about the company that provides the tech for this newsletter, visit Substack.com.

Subscribe to Douglas Scott Delaney

Columns, Serial Novel Exclusive, Interviews, Observations, Audio Recordings